(City of Pocatello, May 13, 2022)

Thursday, May 12, the Biden Administration through the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) awarded $254.5 million in Brownfields grants to 265 communities. The grants are supported by President Biden’s Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, which provides a total of $1.5 billion to “advance environmental justice”, spur economic revitalization, and create jobs by cleaning up contaminated, polluted, or hazardous brownfield properties.



In EPA’s Region 10 (Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington), a total of 15 projects have been selected to receive nearly $8.65 million in grant funding (including $2.5M in Bipartisan Infrastructure Law funding). The Region 10 selectees include:

City of Pocatello

City of Unalaska

Region IV Development Association, Inc.

Southeast Idaho Council of Governments

City of Chiloquin

Clatsop County

Columbia Pacific Economic Development District of Oregon

City of Hillsboro

City of Lincoln City

City of Portland

Rogue Valley Council of Governments

Tillamook County

City of Olympia

Port of Tacoma

City of Spokane

In addition, Region 10 is receiving just under 8 million of supplemental Bipartisan Infrastructure Law funding for two high-performing Revolving Loan Fund Grant recipients–the Oregon Business Development Department and the Washington State Department of Commerce–to help communities continue their work to carry out cleanup and redevelopment projects on contaminated brownfield properties.



“With today’s announcement, we’re turning blight into might for communities across America,” said EPA Administrator Michael S. Regan. “EPA’s Brownfields Program breathes new life into communities by helping to turn contaminated and potentially dangerous sites into productive economic contributors. Thanks to President Biden’s Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, we are significantly ramping up our investments in communities, with the bulk of our funding going to places that have been overburdened and underserved for far too long.”


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.